Stone entry gates
| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
The Stone Entry Gates served as the main entrance to the campus and as a symbol of the proud heritage of Johnson C. Smith University and the Biddleville community. The Stone Entry Gates currently serve as a symbol of history for the Johnson C. Smith University community. The entrance to the campus is currently on the opposite end of the semi-circular driveway that links a significant portion of the University.
Dr. Dan L. Morrill, Director of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Properties Commission, writes, "The stone gates guarding the old entrances to Johnson C. Smith University are fitting monuments to mark both the revitalization of that institution through the benefaction of Mrs. Johnson C. Smith and the changing of its name to honor the memory of her husband. Built in 1923 as part of a rigorous construction program funded by Mrs. Smith, the gates stand as a symbol of the commitment to the school to be one of the best black colleges in the country by Mrs. Smith, the Presbyterian church, and local leaders."
Parker, Inez Moore. The Biddle-Johnson C. Smith University Story. Charlotte, NC: Charlotte Publishing, 1975.