Edmund Stanley Library
| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
Edmund Stanley Library exemplifies architecture of the 1960s and is architecturally unique compared to other buildings on Friends University's campus. It was opened in 1970 and is named after the first president of the University, Edmund Stanley, who served from 1898-1918.
The building prominently features four distinct large statuary pieces designed by Bernard Frazier (d. 1976). They include Faith, Perception, Empathy, and Intellect and are located at the four corners of the building surrounded by brick walls. The building also houses the Quaker Room and the Mid-America Yearly Meeting Archives, which contain a variety of historical, cultural, genealogical, and other types of information.