| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
Dame Mall is named after John W. Dame, the college's first graduate in 1847. The site consists of a grassy, tree-lined mall that stretches through the center of campus from end to end. Numerous campus activities, both formal and informal, have found a home on Dame Mall throughout the years. Dame Mall provides members of the Franklin College community with a picturesque setting that greatly enhances the aesthetic appeal of the campus. It contains the Wellhouse, which was built in 1916 by a Franklin College alumna and has sentimental significance for students and graduates. In addition, Pi Beta Phi sorority constructed a gazebo on Dame Mall as a gift to the college in observance of Pi Beta Phi's centennial on the FC campus in 1988. Other commemorative objects/places found on Dame mall include: the Kelly Eckart memorial (1979-1997), the Charlotte Emerson Club memorial (1893-1988), and two large, ornate stone benches donated by the class of 1915.