| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
In 1896, the college's founder Mother Irene Gill, traveled to New Rochelle to explore the possibility of establishing a seminary there for young women. She spoke with the Rev. Thomas McLoughlin, pastor of Blessed Sacrament Church and friend of Father O'Farrell, about her plans and learned from him that a wonderful potential site, Leland Castle, might be available for purchase. This 1850s gothic revival structure the vacation home of wealthy New York hotelier Simeon Leland built in the 1850s seemed ideal. The sale was delayed, however, and not until the summer of 1897 did the Ursulines move into their new home on Castle Place. In September 1897, ten boarders and sixty day students of the Ursuline Seminary for Girls joined them behind the heavy doors decorated with the lion heads. This enterprise marked the beginning of what is now The Ursuline School on North Avenue, for many years an intrinsic part of the College with facilities in or near the Castle. The Castle, which was renovated in 1973, is part of the campus quadrangle.
Leland Castle [College of New Rochelle]. National Register of Historic Places designation report. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of the Interior/National Park Service, 1976.