| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
This unique structure, with Queen Anne and Eastlake attributes, was built as a private residence by Lordsburg College's fifth president, W. C. Hanawalt, who probably also designed it. Partly constructed with distinctive pre-cast concrete block, it includes a tower with a porch room as well as porches on the ground and first floors. Hanawalt progeny continued to serve the college even as it name changed to La Verne College in 1917 and to the University of La Verne in 1977. La Verne College acquired the residence in 1950 and successively used it for a variety of activities, including an Early Childhood Education Laboratory/Daycare Center and University Counseling Center, before it took on its current role as the University's Human Resources Department.
Heckman, Marlin. University of La Verne. Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing, 2001.
Hogan, Herbert W., and Gladdys E. Muir. The University of La Verne: A Centennial History: 1891-1991. La Verne, CA: University of La Verne, 1990.
Hogan, Herbert W. Years of Renewal and Growth: University of La Verne 1985-2000, the First Fifteen Years of the Presidency of Stephen C. Morgan. La Verne, CA: University of La Verne, 2001.
Muir, Gladdys E. La Verne College: Seventy-Five Years of Service. Los Angeles: La Verne College, 1967.
Polos, Nicholas. "The Rise of a University: Super-Tent," Mt. San Antonio Historian 16, no. 3 (Summer 1980): 93-105.