Council of Independent Colleges Historic Campus Architecture Project


Marina Gate

Click on image titles for larger views.
Institution Name: University of Bridgeport
Original/Historic Place Name: Marina Gate
Location on Campus: Marina Park St.
Date(s) of Construction:
1878original construction Longstaff, George W.
Designer: George W. Longstaff
Type of Place: Landscape site
Style: (Glossary)
Significance: culture, history, landscape
Narrative: see below
References: see below
ca. 1878-present (2006)other (gate: former gate to Marina Estate, currently freestanding gate)

Marina Park Gate, a free-standing structure built in 1878, is the last physical remains of P.T. Barnum's original estate in Marina Park. Designed at the same time as the estate's mansion by the same architect, George W. Longstaff, the Gate was beautifully landscaped to harmonize with the main house. The original home, long the University's main dining hall, was razed in the 1960's and replaced with a more modern building.

Though not historically-designated, the Gate is nonetheless a unique and important physical artifact of the Marina Park Historic District. It is currently without its gates and the electrical light that had been installed after its original construction. Otherwise it is in fine condition.


Contact us / About Site / About CIC
© 2006
Council of Independent Colleges
Washington, DC
All rights reserved
Last update: November 2006