| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
DeLaRoche Hall was originally built as the College Building in 1900. Damaged by fire in 1908, it was rebuilt immediately as Lynch Hall, and served until 1933 as classroom, administrative, and friary space. In 1933 the building was again severely damaged by fire. It was rebuilt of fire resistant materials under the direction of noted Buffalo architect Chester Oakley. Together with surrounding buildings of the old campus, Oakley created a unique environment of highly decorated brick and tile buildings reminiscent of Florentine architecture. This campus creates a tangible link between the University and its intellectual roots in the Italy of St. Francis and St. Bonaventure. Terracotta ornamentation over the main entrance includes references to the local oil industry founded upon the discovery of oil by the Franciscan Fr. DeLaRoche.
Angelo, Mark V. The History of St. Bonaventure University. St. Bonaventure: Franciscan Institute, 1961.
"Big Science Hall for Bona's Now Certain." Bona Venture, April 8, 1927. St. Bonaventure University, Bonaventure, NY, 1.
The Dedication of Fr. Joseph de la Roche d'Allion Hall. [St. Bonaventure, NY: St. Bonaventure College], 1934.
"De La Roche Getting $1.3 Million Renovation." Olean (NY) Times Herald, June 2, 1974, 1-2.
Eaton, Betty. Chester Oakley: His Work on the St. Bonaventure University Campus. Term paper. Spring 1983. Archives, St. Bonaventure College, St. Bonaventure, NY.
"History of De LaRoche Hall Highlighted by Series of Fires." Bona Venture, October 20, 1950.
O'Neill, Megan. "Buildings of Saint Bonaventure." Online (2006). St. Bonaventure College, St. Bonaventure, NY. http://web.sbu.edu/friedsam/archives/studentpages/buildings/Index.htm