| Click on image titles for larger views. |
Administration Building (front facade, with sculpture of Emily Prudden in foreground), Pfeiffer University
Originally dedicated on 2 September 1923, the Freeman Administration Building replaced the original main administrative/all-purpose structure destroyed by a fire on June 29, 1914. Under the direction of architect Otis C. Poundstone, the Administration Building was remodeled in 1936 to match a series of neoclassical buildings constructed in 1935. The interior has been upgraded several times over the successive years, most recently with the renovation of the theater in 2002.
The building stands as one of the physical points in a triangle of intellectual and social life on the North side of campus (the other two being the Henry Pfeiffer Chapel and Jane Freeman Hall).
Gore, Phyllis W. A Brief History of the Buildings of Pfeiffer College: 1885-1985. [Misenheimer, NC]: Pfeiffer College, 1985.
Hood, Davyd Foard. Pfeiffer Junior College Historic District. National Register of Historic Places designation report. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of the Interior/National Park Service, 1999.
Master plan collection. 1957, 1958, 1961, 1967, 1968, and 2000. Archives, Pfeiffer University, Misenheimer, NC.