| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
Marywood University (then College) opened on September 8, 1915. The Sister, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary came to the site more than a decade before, and the Arch along with the Sisters' Motherhouse, was dedicated in 1902. The IHM Motherhouse just behind the Arch burned to the ground in 1971, but the Arch survived and still stands as the main entrance to the campus. The statue of the Mother of God atop the Arch is symbolic of the naming of the campus. Originally, it was Mt. St. Mary's, but it was later changed to Marywood.