| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
Pearsons Hall was originally used as the campus dining facility. It was positioned between the old men's dormitory (Carnegie) and the old women's dormitory (Clark). The two dormitories were connected by a glass enclosed breezeway to Pearsons. The glass has been removed, leaving an open air breezeway with a slate roof and supporting white pillars. Pearsons was also the campus stage for performances. The north side of the building has a semi-circle bay of windows that looks out on the north side of campus and the college mall.
Pearsons is no longer the dining facility for campus, though special dinners and other events are still held in the building. Many of the college's alumni revere this unique building, with its beautiful interior and magnificent view. Like the other campus buildings, it has a red brick exterior and a slate roof.
McKendree College History, 1928-1978. Paducah, KY: Turner Publishing, 1996.
Selected items in College collections (including yearbooks, newspapers, catalogs, clippings). Archives. McKendree College, Lebanon, IL.
Steen, Robert, McKendree College. Lebanon, IL: McKendree College, 1948.
Walton, William A. Centennial McKendree College History with St. Clair County. Lebanon, IL: McKendree College, 1928.