| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
The Quadrangle area, which consists of three buildings surrounding an open space, encompasses the heart of the college. The unique feature is the way in which these buildings--Miguel Hall, named for St. Miguel Febres Codero, De La Salle Hall, named for the College's founder, St. John Baptist De La Salle, and Memorial Hall--are all joined as one unit. From the exterior, the two archways have stairwells leading up to the Quadrangle area. From the interior one can go from building to building using interior halls, stairways, and elevators. These buildings currently house classrooms, administrative and faculty offices, meeting rooms, and a small chapel.
When first built in 1923, these buildings composed the entire college. Today, the unique configuration has been preserved, along with the exterior, which has not changed. The Quadrangle buildings remain the center of campus life and are the most identifiable feature of the Manhattan campus.
Costello, Gabriel. The Arches of the Years: Manhattan College 1853-1979. Riverdale, NY: Manhattan College, 1980.