Franciscan Theatre and Conference Center
| Click on image titles for larger views. || |
The Franciscan Center was originally envisioned to provide meeting space for the growing religious congregation but quickly evolved into a facility that would be available to the public. It houses an 800 seat theatre, as well as several conference rooms and a large reception area, and provides minimal gym facilities.
The center was built on the site of St. Anthony Hall, a wooden structure that was the hub of the religious congregation's spiritual, communal, educational, and administrative life from 1919 until it was razed in 1977. The architecture is marked by a series of interior and exterior arches, a bell tower, cloister walks, and magnificent original ceramic murals designed and executed by Sisters Jane Mary Sorosiak, Helen Chmura, and Agneta Ganzel, along with the help of a host of volunteers. The external walls of the theater's fly space boast 3 large murals that wind 140 feet around the walls. The east wall portrays the story of the apparition at Lourdes.
Klewicki, Mary Dunstan. Ventures For The Lord: The History of the Sylvania Franciscans. Sylvania, OH: Sisters of St. Francis, 1990.
Lesiak, Michaeline. Art Catalogue: Narrative in the Duns Scotus Library. Sylvania, OH: Sisters of St. Francis, 1986.
Warpeha, M. Justinian. Of Evergreens Rooted In Yellow Sand, a Profile of Venerable Mother M. Adelaide, Foundress of the Sisters of St. Francis of Sylvania, Ohio. Sylvania, OH: Sisters of St. Francis, 1967.